SCEH 2021 Award Winners

SCEH Recognizes Achievements in the Hypnosis Community

On Friday, November 19, 2021, the Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis held an online awards event to shine a light upon and publicly recognize achievements within the hypnosis community. Hosted by SCEH Outgoing President, Janna Henning, JD, PsyD, FT and Incoming President, Ciara Christensen, PhD, the ceremony acknowledged the contributions of winners in the areas of clinical hypnosis education and training, hypnosis research and publication. and SCEH programs and activities that advanced the organization’s mission to promote excellence and progress in the field.

The 2021 SCEH Nominating Committee included Chair Gary Elkins, PhD, ABPP, ABPH and Committee Members David Reid, PsyD and Devin Terhune, PhD.  Nominations were sourced via a member Call for Awards, then independently judged by the committee.  The Society received a large number of nominations in 2021, making it one of the Society’s most competitive awards programs in recent history.

SCEH celebrates the work of our winners and expresses our admiration and gratitude to our award winners. The following awards were presented:

  • The Henry Guze Award for Best Research Paper on Hypnosis to
    Afik Faerman and David Spiegel, MD in recognition of their paper “Shared cognitive mechanisms of hypnotizability with executive functioning and information salience” published in Scientific Reports, 11(1):5704.
  • The Ernest R. and Josephine R. Hilgard Award for Best Theoretical Paper on Hypnosis to John F. Kihlstrom, PhD for his paper  “Recognition in Posthypnotic Amnesia, Revisited” published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, 69:3, 383-410.
  • The Roy M. Dorcus Award for Best Paper in Clinical Hypnosis to Nicolino Ramondo, Gilles E. Gignac, Carmela F. Pestell & Susan M. Byrne for their paper “Clinical Hypnosis as an Adjunct to Cognitive Behavior Therapy: An Updated Meta-Analysis” published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, 69:2,169-202.
  • The Crasilneck Award for the best first paper presented by a graduate student or young scientist at a SCEH meeting to Morgan Snyder, MA, Joshua Rhodes, BA and Mattie Biggs, MSCP for their paper “Music and Suggestion for Chronic Pain: Theoretical Perspectives, Proposed Mechanisms and Current Research” delivered at the SCEH Annual Conference last year (2020).
  • The Reviewer of the Year Award for significant contribution to our peer-reviewed quarterly, the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis to Anthony Tasso, PhD, ABPP.
  • The Stanley Krippner Award in recognition of significant contribution to the field of hypnosis made by a student or early career professional, given to Elizabeth Slonena, PsyD for helping develop the Hypnotic Induction Practice Network of Students Interested in Skill Enhancement (HIPNOSISE), a new program to be launched soon.
  • The Erika Fromm Award for Excellence in Teaching to David Reid, PsyD for recognized excellence in teaching at all levels of clinical hypnosis.
  • The Shirley Schneck Award to a physician who has made significant contributions to medical hypnosis to Moshe Torem, MD for international contributions to medical hypnosis as a teacher and author and IJCEH reviewer.
  • The Arthur Shapiro Award for the Best Book in Hypnosis to Michael Yapko, PhD in recognition of his book, Process-Oriented Hypnosis: Focusing on the Forest, Not the Trees, published by W. W. Norton & Company.
  • The Bernard B. Raginski Award for Leadership and Achievement to Donald Moss, PhD, for his leadership in the creation and ongoing development of a successful; webinar series, for his oversight of our Midyear Workshops program, and for his tireless efforts to increase cooperation with hypnosis groups worldwide.
  • Naming of New Fellow - Incoming SCEH President Ciara Christensen also conferred the title of Fellow to Janna Henning, JD, PsyD, FT. Fellow nominations must be approved by a vote of the SCEH Executive Council and recognize outstanding contributors to the science and/or practice of hypnosis.  Henning was recognized for her service as President, and extensive work on major initiatives on governance and diversity.

 The SCEH Program also includes awards chosen by the current SCEH President.  Singled out this year for Presidential Citations for their contributions were:

  • Ciara Christensen, PhD - in recognition of her leadership, energy and dedication in co-chairing an outstanding second virtual annual conference for the Society.

  • David Reid, PsyD – in recognition of his leadership, energy and dedication in co-chairing an outstanding second virtual annual conference for the Society.

  • Anne Doherty Johnson - in recognition of her many contributions to the hypnosis community as our Executive Director, and in particular for her assistance to the President in navigating several large SCEH governance projects and her work to transition the Society to new technology platforms.

  • Don Moss, PhD - in recognition of his dedicated service and commitment to hypnosis as chair of the SCEH Education Committee, and his tireless efforts in organizing the SCEH Midyear Workshops and popular SCEH Webinar Series.

  • Gary Elkins, PhD, ABPP, ABPH - in recognition of his excellent service as Editor, and for his continued stewardship of this important peer-reviewed journal, the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, including spearheading the transition to ScholarOne, increasing awareness of Open Access Publishing, and moving to an online-first workflow.

  • Barbara McCann, PhD - in recognition of her commitment to education, including her contributions to both the Annual and Midyear Conferences, and her mentorship of female students and early career professionals.

  • Zoltan Kekecs, PhD - in recognition of his excellent service as Treasurer and continued efforts to grow a Mentorship Program for the Society to foster the next generation of leaders in our field.

  • Sam Stork, MSCP - in recognition of his outstanding work over the last three years, as Co-Editor and Editor of FOCUS, our quarterly newsletter, and for delivering a high quality, timely publication to our members.

  • Madeline Stein, MA - in recognition of her work as co-editor of FOCUS and significant contributions as a volunteer member of several SCEH committees.

  • Casey Applegate-Aguilar MA, MS - in recognition of her enthusiastic promotion of hypnosis and SCEH programs in her role as editor of our Facebook page, and for her assistance with the 2021 Introductory Workshop.

The Society congratulates all nominees and winners and expresses its thanks to the Nomination Committee. 

The Call for Nominations for next year’s SCEH Awards Program will be issued early in 2022.  For more information, contact us.

More information on the SCEH Awards Program can be found at


Share this post:

Comments on "SCEH 2021 Award Winners"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment